Teaser Tuesday (July 2)

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by Should Be Reading, which asks you to grab your current read, open to a random page, and share two teaser sentences.

This week’s teaser comes from The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

5
“It was a rainy winter, with days as gray as lead, and I read Great Expectations about nine times, partly because I had no other book at hand, partly because I did not think there could be a better one in the whole world and I was beginning to suspect that Mr. Dickens had written it just for me. Soon I was convinced that I didn’t want to do anything else in life but learn to do what Mr. Dickens had done.” – page 36
1

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday (July 2)

  1. I’m sure it’s good because the prose is well done, but just based on the fact the narrator liked Great Expectations turned me off 😉 I struggled through that book in school.

    • I completely understand – I had to read Great Expectations in my first year of high school and found it to be depressing and slow. I keep meaning to give it another try, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

