where I read: the lake

DSCN3000I recently just came back from a camping trip, so I thought I would talk about where I read while I was away!

The campground my family always goes to is on a lake, which I absolutely love. The water is clear and not too choppy, and there are mountains looming in the distance that you can see if there aren’t clouds in the way. The sight is beautiful, and I often find myself just staring out at the lake and taking it all in.

When I’m not soaking up the nature around me, you can be sure that I’ll have my nose in a book. My favorite place to read at the lake is at a picnic table, which I claim early in the morning by putting my towel on it. I always aim to get one a little to the left of the lifeguard tower, simply because it’s what I do every time. From that spot you have a great view of the majority of the lake without anything being in the way. It’s far enough away from the lake to not get splashed, but close enough to feel the breeze coming off it and to smell its mineral scent. If the sun is out, you’re in the perfect place to feel its rays. You can feel the sand between your toes when you take off your shoes, but you don’t have to worry about getting it in your clothes. And if you really need a break from reading or staring at mountains, you’re in a great position from which to do some people-watching.

I get so much reading done at this picnic table- it’s sort of scary. I was gone for five days and I read a total of three books, which is quite a lot more than I would normally read in that amount of time. There’s nothing like fresh air and a bit of sun to get you into the reading mood!

Where do you like to read? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

P.S. For those of you wondering, the book on the picnic table that I was reading at the time I took this picture is The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han.

One thought on “where I read: the lake

  1. Pingback: elsewhere, one. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

