if you like… STAR TREK

Welcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

I am a huge Trekkie and have been for a few years now. I love the new movies that have recently been made, however the original series will always have a special place in my nerdy heart.

kirk and spock

Perhaps you lovely people are also Trekkies? If so, then here are some book recommendations based on this amazing science fiction show:

ender's gameEnder’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

This book is one of my favorite science fiction novels. It features plenty of space travel and aliens, just like Star Trek. Orson Scott Card is a fantastic writer, and you can’t help but feel for Ender and his sticky situation. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a unique, original science fiction story!

 

 

these broken stars coverThese Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

Not sure if you’re ready to venture into a world of pure science fiction? This book is a great stepping stone into this genre. Not only does it include spaceships, exploring new planets, and strange life-forms, but it also contains an excellently written romantic relationship between two teenagers. If you’re a fan of YA romance and want to delve deeper into the world of science fiction, then this is the book for you!

 

hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy coverHitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

This one is practically a given. It’s hilarious, quirky, and definitely a great work of science fiction. If you’re in the mood for a bunch of laughs and crazy adventures, then be sure to give this one a try!

 

 

I hope these books help quench your Star Trek thirst! Of course, you could always try reading some Star Trek novelizations. I have never read any, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them!

What science fiction books do you like? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “if you like… STAR TREK

  1. You might be able to tell from my URL that I also
    Iike Star Trek, even though I have yet to finish even the first series. I love Ender’s Game, and the companion series even more. Hitchhiker’s Guide is great, and I really NEED to read These Broken Stars. The cover is awesome, and the story looks interesting from all the hype about it.

  2. Pingback: elsewhere, two. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s