if you like… MEMOIRS

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

Recently I have developed a love of reading memoirs. There’s just something about being in the mind of a writer that I can’t seem to get enough of. Memoirs are great because the genre itself is so diverse- you have ones that read like stories, ones that are more like essay collections, ones that are funny and ones that will break your heart. I definitely think it’s a genre that people should read more of!

So, if you like memoirs or are thinking about delving deeper into this fabulous genre, here are some of my recommendations:

is everyone hanging out without me cover1. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling.

I recommended this book before in my If You Like… THE OFFICE post, but it also works well here. This book is a mixture of a bunch of different stories from Mindy Kaling about her life growing up as well as the path she took to get to where she is today. It’s hilarious, witty, and told with a uniquely honest and authentic voice. If you’re looking for something funny and light yet still insightful, definitely give this book a go!

just don't fall2. Just Don’t Fall by Josh Sundquist.

I’ve been a fan of Josh Sundquist’s Youtube channel for quite some time now, so when I heard he wrote a memoir I knew I had to read it. This is the story of his experience with cancer as a child and how it drastically changed his life by making him an amputee. His quirky sense of humor shines on every page, transforming this bittersweet story into one of overcoming obstacles and moving forward when everyone else believes you’ll only retreat backwards.

 

october sky cover3. October Sky by Homer H. Hickam Jr.

I remember watching the movie adaptation of this memoir in elementary school (not sure why we watched it then, but oh well) and really enjoying it. When I came across a copy of this book in a used bookstore I jumped on the opportunity to read Homer H. Hickam Jr.’s actual story. If you’re a fan of history, rockets, and coming of age stories, this is the memoir for you!

I hope this inspires you to check out the amazing genre of memoirs- or, if you’re already a fan of the genre, to read one of these fantastic books. What memoirs would you recommend? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

2 thoughts on “if you like… MEMOIRS

  1. Pingback: elsewhere, three. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

