read-a-thon dos and don’ts

I recently participated in my first ever read-a-thon. At first I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but once I started reading I realized what I was doing right and what I was doing wrong. Today I thought I’d share with you some of the things I learned!

Do’s:

  • Do set realistic goals. It sure feels great to have a huge stack of books that you can read. But do you really have time for them all? I found that making smaller reading goals worked better in the long run because they were much easier to accomplish. It’s more fun to check off little goals along the way than to stress out about one huge, unattainable one.
  • Do take breaks from reading when you need to. Reading as much as possible is of course the goal of the read-a-thon, but that doesn’t mean that you need to be reading every second of every day! It’s important to give your eyes and mind a rest when you feel tired, and don’t forget to eat and sleep as well.
  • Do reach out to others also participating in the read-a-thon. The internet is a great way to get encouragement and to have fun during read-a-thons. Join some Twitter sprints or read some posts by your favorite book bloggers. You’re sure to feel inspired and ready to read!

Don’ts:

  • Don’t plan every single book you’re going to read ahead of time. If you’re anything like me, what you read it mostly based off your mood. There might be some books that you just don’t feel like reading when you’re actually in the read-a-thon. I found that it’s best to set aside a few specific books, but also to leave some spots open for whatever you feel like reading later on.
  • Don’t worry if you stray from your TBR list. I’m a repeat offender of this one. TBR lists never seem to work for me, but it’s nothing to stress out about! If you don’t read a certain book in this read-a-thon, you can always read it in the next one. It’s more beneficial- and more enjoyable- to read a book you actually feel like reading at the moment than one you only read because you feel like you have to.
  • Don’t compare how much you’ve read with how much other people have read. It’s easy to look on Twitter and book blogs to see how much other people have read. But don’t let yourself feel bad if your page count isn’t as high as theirs. Everyone reads different books at different paces, so you it’s unfair to yourself to judge your success on a simple page count. Instead, be happy with the reading that you have accomplished! As long as you’ve read something, your read-a-thon has been a success.

I hope these tips are helpful! If you have any advice for read-a-thons I’d love to hear it! Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

4 thoughts on “read-a-thon dos and don’ts

  1. Pingback: elsewhere, three. | NutFreeNerd

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Aug 17-23, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  3. Haha, I always tried to plan out the books I would read in advance, but it never worked out for me. So now I just list a bunch of books that I MIGHT get to, and even then I tend to stray. The main goal of readathons is to have fun and read as much as you want, so I don’t think there should be any restrictions 😀

  4. Great list! I’ve participated in a few read-a-thons and each time I had planned to read books from my review queue. I finally realized that this plan is not working out for me. I hardly get any books read and I feel like I’ve failed the read-a-thon. Next read-a-thon I sign up for will be for non-review queue books so there’s no pressure.

Leave a Reply

