if you like… HISTORICAL FICTION

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

This week I’m focusing on a genre that I think is not given enough credit- historical fiction. Much of the time it is viewed as more educational and therefore not as entertaining, but I would definitely argue against it! Yes, you do learn a lot about other time periods, societies, and cultures, but it is also intriguing, enthralling, and thought-provoking. Like a time machine bound within pages!

tardis in vortex

It wouldn’t be right if I didn’t include a TARDIS gif, now, would it??

If you’re looking to dive deeper into the historical fiction genre, then you’ve come to the right place!

tamar coverTamar by Mal Peet.

Set in WWII, this book is a tangled web of story lines, relationships, and secrets. The perspective switches back and forth between today’s time and WWII, which really helps the reader to see the bigger picture of the war in its context. Mixed with a little bit of mystery, this novel will keep you glued to the pages!

 

the help coverThe Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Set in Mississippi in 1962, this book focuses on themes of racial issues, friendship, and women in society. It’s a heart-wrenching story, but it’s also insightful and even funny. The movie is great as well, so if you don’t have time to read this book at least watch the film adaptation!

 

 

revolution coverRevolution by Jennifer Donnelly.

Set partly in modern-day Brooklyn and partly in revolutionary Paris, this masterpiece of a novel is incredibly fascinating and captivating. There are intertwining story lines, complex characters, and amazing settings that seem to come alive around you as you’re reading. This book is definitely worth a read, especially if you’re a fan of French history!

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! What books would you recommend for people looking to read more historical fiction? What are your thoughts on the books I’ve recommended? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

6 thoughts on “if you like… HISTORICAL FICTION

  1. This feature is a great idea! Revolution sounds really interesting — I went through a serious French Revolution phase as a teenager. It was actually a little worrisome.

    My three favorite historical fiction books all have a bit of fantasy mixed in, but the research in each of them is just mind-blowing. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell is set in England (and then Spain and Italy) during the Napoleonic wars, and the writing (by Susanna Clarke) is straight out of that time period. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers is about (assassin) nuns in 15th century Brittany. I didn’t know much about that history until I read the book and it made me want to know everything about Duchess Anne. The Accursed, by Joyce Carol Oates, is so full of historical background on Princeton in the early 1900s that I could never be sure what was made up and what was true fact. Oates’s knowledge of detail was insane.

    A work of historical fiction (with a bit of classy monster-slaying) that just came out: The Quick by Lauren Owen. I rather liked it. Victorian London is always fun.

    • The Accursed sounds really interesting! I love when books are so fascinating that you don’t even know where to begin with thinking. I’ll definitely have to check it out. Thanks for commenting! 😀

  2. Yes I LOVE Tamar!!! You’ve reminded me how much I loved it! I’ll have to give it another read soon!
    I am currently obsessed with Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein! It’s really really good and it reignited my love for good old historical fiction!

  3. I’ve never actually heard of Tamar or Revolution — I’ll have to add them to my TBR since I love historical fiction!

    In terms of my recommendations, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak tops the list (the movie was also wonderful and tear-inducing). I also really liked Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys, A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller, Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, and A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray, to name a few.

  4. Pingback: elsewhere, four. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

