back-to-school books.

tumblr_m7os6o9Iwi1qm5bjko2_500It’s September, and you all know what that means: back-to-school season has arrived!

The excitement of going back to school does not last forever, though. I’ve only been back for around two weeks and I’m already feeling the monotony of routine take over. If you’re bored like my friend Sherlock there (and yes, he is my friend) then you should check out some of these books that remind me of this time of year. For some reason I always associate these books with going back to school- maybe it’s just me, or maybe there’s some logic to it. I’ll let you decide!

perks coverThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

Everything about this book makes me think of going back to school- the story itself, the movie, and even the soundtrack. It’s such a great coming-of-age story that I just can’t help but love it.

 

 

will grayson, will grayson coverWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan.

This novel follows the adventures of an eclectic group of friends who experience so many unlikely coincidences that you start to wonder if it’s actually meant to be. And, of course, a lot of it takes place during school.

 

 

crunch time coverCrunch Time by Mariah Fredericks.

Crazy stuff happens when these four teens take the SAT for the first time- and someone is accused of cheating! This one is sure to remind you of your test-taking days.

 

 

paper covers rock coverPaper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard.

You all know how much I love a good boarding school book- and that’s exactly what this novel is! A bittersweet mixture of tragedy and hope, this story is seeping with school-days nostalgia.

 

 

the raven boysThe Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

For some strange reason, I always think of school when I think of this book. Regardless, I definitely recommend it!

 

 

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! With any luck they’ll keep the back-to-school blues at bay for at least a little while longer!

What books remind you of school? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

2 thoughts on “back-to-school books.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Sep 7-13, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  2. Pingback: elsewhere, five. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

