if you like… INTERTWINING STORIES

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

One of my favorite things is when novels have intertwining plot lines. There’s just so much going on at once and it never gets dull or boring. This takes a excellent writer to pull it off well, and fortunately I have had the pleasure of reading many of these fantastic books. Here are some of my favorites:

Jellicoe-Road-by-Melina-Marchetta_thumbJellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

I couldn’t make this post without mentioning this book at least once. This is possibly my favorite book of all time- like, EVER. The main plot line takes place in modern day Australia, while the second plot line occurs a few decades earlier in the exact same place. Marchetta is an amazing writer, and I love these characters and this story to pieces.

 

 

pathfinder coverPathfinder by Orson Scott Card.

I read this book over the summer and I was surprised at how much I actually enjoyed it. It’s pretty long (over 600 pages, I think) but it’s so intricate and detailed that there’s never a dull moment. The main plot line takes place in a world similar to ours (but with several fantastical differences) and the second plot line occurs in a ship flying through outer space. If you’re a fan of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game series or science fiction/fantasy in general I definitely recommend this book!

 

where things come back coverWhere Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley.

It’s hard to believe that this is JCW’s debut novel- it’s written so incredibly well! The main plot line follows a high school senior during an unusual summer, while the second plot line starts off by following a young missionary. This young adult contemporary novel is quirky, unique, thought-provoking, and just overall a great read.

 

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! What are your favorite books with intertwining stories? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “if you like… INTERTWINING STORIES

  1. Pingback: elsewhere, six. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s