if you like… SPOOKY SETTINGS

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

The Halloween fun continues this week with a post all about spooky settings- you know, those places in books that make shivers dance up your spine, the ones that cause to you look over your shoulder in paranoia whenever you read. It takes a skilled writer to craft such a spooky setting, but fortunately there are plenty of them that I can recommend!

miss peregrine's home for peculiar children cover

 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

There’s something about Cairnholm Island that was really spooky. Perhaps it’s the gloomy weather, the isolation, or simply the eerie aura it exudes. Whatever the reason, it’s sure to give you the creeps!

clockwork angel cover

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

London in 1878? Dark alleyways, mysterious societies, and conniving vampires? Everything about the setting of this novel screams spooky!

a great and terrible beauty cover

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.

 That’s right: this story takes place at a Victorian boarding school. Coupled with a secret Order and supernatural elements, this setting is definitely going to make you think twice about shutting your lights off at night!

I hope these recommendations are adequately spooky! What books with spooky settings would you recommend? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “if you like… SPOOKY SETTINGS

  1. There can never be enough creepy boarding school books to suit me. I loved Libba Bray’s series when I read it a decade (!!) ago.

    Long Lankin by Lindsay Barraclough has a brilliant haunted house in the overgrown English countryside. And the haunted house in Helen Oyeyemi’s White Is For Witching is practically a character in its own right. The atmosphere in that book nearly knocked me over when I first read it. Also, Natalie C. Parker’s book Beware The Wild, which just came out, has a fabulously spooky swamp. (So does Chime, by Franney Billingsley. I ❤ scary swamps.)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Oct 19-25, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  3. Pingback: elsewhere, eight. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s