if you like… LONG BOOKS

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

Wow, it sure has been a while since I’ve posted here on The In-Between Place! As per usual, school, work, and life in general have consumed so much of my time, but now I’m back and ready to blog! Since I was gone for such a LONG time, I thought that this week I would recommend some LONGER books. (See what I did there? :))

I always feel like winter is the perfect time to curl up with a nice tome and spend a while reading. So in the event that you’re looking for a longer book to read this season (or any time of year, really) here are three books that have over 500 pages!

the goldfinch coverThe Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

At 771 pages long, this colossal novel tells the story of Theo, a boy whose life is perhaps destined to be intertwined with the intriguing painting, “The Goldfinch”. You follow Theo from a young age in New York City all the way to his life as an adult caught up in a tangled mess of mistakes and desires. Haunting and utterly captivating, The Goldfinch will change the way you look at this simple yet meaningful painting- and maybe even art as a form of expression.

a prayer for owen meany coverA Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

With a total of 640 pages, this novel tells the story of Owen Meany, a boy who accidentally kills the mother of his best friend in a Little League baseball game. Their relationship is forever changed, even in ways that don’t come to light until it is too late. Set in small-town America in the 1950s and filled with questions of friendship, religion, politics, and life in general, A Prayer for Owen Meany is certain to make you think.

all the light we cannot see coverAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Ringing in at 544 pages, this novel tells the tragic and heart-wrenching story of two young people attempting to survive on opposite sides of World War II. Marie Laure, a blind French girl, faces the every day challenge of piecing the world together in her mind. Werner, a German orphan, struggles morally as he works for the Nazis on the radios that he has adored since he was a child. All the Light We Cannot See is sure to strike a chord in readers as these two beautifully written stories collide and intertwine.

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! What long books would you recommend? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “if you like… LONG BOOKS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s