If You Like… CLASSICS


If You LikeWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

I’ve been reading a lot of classics lately, so I thought that this week I’d recommend some classics that I’ve recently enjoyed.

Wuthering HeightsWuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Although this novel is a lot different from what I expected it to be (I thought it would be a romantic love story- it’s not!) I still really enjoyed. It’s basically like reading a soap opera because it’s so dramatic and ridiculous. It’s really well written and you can’t help but love to hate the characters. It’s a pretty quick read as well, which is great if you’re in any sort of time crunch.

Catcher in the RyeThe Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

I’m in the middle of rereading this novel for the second time right now, and I’m surprised by how much I’m enjoying it. Yes, Holden Caulfield can get a bit irritating at times (everything is just so PHONY to him) but I think that deep down we can all relate to him at least a little. It’s also really interesting to read it knowing how it ends because it definitely puts a different perspective on his entire situation. For anyone who has ever felt lonely, misunderstood, or just frustrated with the world, I think you’ll definitely find a connection with poor Holden!

Great ExpectationsGreat Expectations by Charles Dickens

I haven’t actually finished reading this one entirely yet- I’m reading it with my AP English class right now and I’m currently about half way through it- but I am absolutely adoring it thus far so I thought I’d recommend it anyways. Pip is a spectacular narrator because he’s so easy to relate to. The characters in this novel seem to leap right off the page and Dickens’ writing is brilliantly witty. If the second half of the novel is as good as the first, this book is one fantastic read!

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! What classics would you recommend? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY (Nut Free Nerd)

P.S. Can you tell that I’m in love with the Penguin English Library collection? ❤

One thought on “If You Like… CLASSICS

  1. I have read The Catcher in the Rye about three times and still, I open the book to read a random page once in a while.
    I had started reading Great Expectations but got bored midway and didn’t continue it any further. And I have yet to try Wuthering Heights. 🙂

Leave a Reply

