Waiting On Wednesday (December 30)

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated.

This week, I’m waiting on This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang, which has an expected publication date of March 22, 2016.

The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world, from the author of Falling into Place.

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivian moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship, as long as no one finds out about it.

But when Janie is date-raped by the most popular guy in school—a guy she’s had a crush on for years—she finds herself ostracized by all the people she thought were her friends. Now only Micah seems to believe she’s telling the truth. But when even Micah expresses doubt about whether or not she was “asking for it,” it leads to disastrous consequences, and Janie Vivian goes missing.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang’s astonishing second novel masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance.

I absolutely loved Falling into Place. It was beautifully written, thought-provoking, and poignant – all of which are important, given the sensitive subject that This Is Where the World Ends deals with.

Which books are you waiting on? Leave me a link or a list to your Waiting on Wednesday post below.

3

Review | Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

4 cupcakes

“She wished to be happy, and fell asleep with an entire sky watching over her.”

Falling Into Place is told in an unconventional, non-linear fashion, which was an incredibly effective way of showcasing the relationship between the choices that one makes and the effects that they have. Flashbacks are interspersed with present day scenarios as an omnipresent narrator provides the details of Liz Emerson’s story. The writing itself is beautiful and poetic, lending an incredibly compelling voice to this unknown narrator – especially when you stop and consider the fact that Amy Zhang is only 18 years old. The revelation of the narrator’s identity is just as unique and interesting – after all, spoiler: I’ve never actually read a book from the perspective of a childhood imaginary friend).

None of the characters were particularly likeable, and Liz and her friends could easily be considered “mean girls” given the way that they treated their classmates. That’s not to say that I didn’t sympathize with them; as the story progressed, I gained a better understanding of their characters and how they became the way that they did, and I found myself hoping that it wasn’t too late to make some positive lifestyle changes.

My favourite part of Falling Into Place was seeing how Newton’s Laws of Motion were integral to the storyline. “Every action has an equal and opposite reaction” does not only apply to forces; instead, as Liz quickly finds out, our actions and words can have profound effects on others, and we often don’t consider the repercussions until it is too late. The effects of Liz’s actions were quite dramatic and encompassed basically all of the issues that you could think of (from drug abuse to suicide), and while it sometimes felt excessive, it illustrated the point fairly well.

Overall, Falling Into Place is a poignant, beautifully written story that will cause you to think critically about the choices you make.

Waiting on Wednesday (August 27)

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated.

This week, I’m waiting on Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang, which has an expected release date of September 9, 2014.

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

I’ve seen countless glowing reviews of this book, and the comparisons to If I Stay have definitely led to it being placed near the top of my to-read list. It sounds beautifully heart-wrenching, so I absolutely cannot wait to give it a read.

Which books are you waiting on? Leave me a link or a list to your Waiting on Wednesday post below.

3