if you like… SPOOKY SETTINGS

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

The Halloween fun continues this week with a post all about spooky settings- you know, those places in books that make shivers dance up your spine, the ones that cause to you look over your shoulder in paranoia whenever you read. It takes a skilled writer to craft such a spooky setting, but fortunately there are plenty of them that I can recommend!

miss peregrine's home for peculiar children cover

 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

There’s something about Cairnholm Island that was really spooky. Perhaps it’s the gloomy weather, the isolation, or simply the eerie aura it exudes. Whatever the reason, it’s sure to give you the creeps!

clockwork angel cover

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

London in 1878? Dark alleyways, mysterious societies, and conniving vampires? Everything about the setting of this novel screams spooky!

a great and terrible beauty cover

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.

 That’s right: this story takes place at a Victorian boarding school. Coupled with a secret Order and supernatural elements, this setting is definitely going to make you think twice about shutting your lights off at night!

I hope these recommendations are adequately spooky! What books with spooky settings would you recommend? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

 

Advertisement

if you like… DOCTOR WHO

If You Like... graphicWelcome to my feature, If You Like…. INSERT THING HERE. In this feature, I’ll be sharing books related to various television shows, movies, other books…. anything and everything!

To celebrate the return of Doctor Who this upcoming weekend (August 23rd), I’ve decided to make this installment Doctor Who themed!

tumblr_n4brekPa1s1spn1n9o1_250There’s nothing like aliens, time travel, and British accents to bring a smile to my face! If you’re the same way, then I would recommend checking out these books:

clockwork angel coverClockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

This novel definitely has a Doctor Who feel with its historical setting and unique creatures. If you like suspenseful action with a touch of romance, give this one a try!

war of the worlds coverWar of the Worlds by H.G. Wells.

Not only is this novel classic science fiction, but it shares several similarities with Doctor Who. Aliens invading London from another planet? It’s like the TV show in book form!

 

 

more than this coverMore Than This by Patrick Ness.

This novel has the same mysterious, what-the-heck-is-going-on vibe that many Doctor Who episodes have. If you’re ready for your mind to be blown by countless twists and turns, definitely get your hands on a copy of this book!

 

I hope you enjoy these recommendations! What other books would you recommend for fans of Doctor Who? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

 

Book Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

My Rating: 2 cupcakes

Magnus Bane is one of the more intriguing characters in the Mortal Instruments series, so I had high hopes for this novella. Unfortunately, while this is a fairly fun read, we don’t really learn anything that The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices series hadn’t already told us.

For the most part, reading What Really Happened in Peru felt like reading a fanfiction story. The dialogue was awkward at times and the transitions between Clare and Brennan’s writing was choppy and obvious.

The story is split into four different parts, chronicling Magnus’ adventures in Peru. As a result, the transitions between these years caused the already short novella to feel rushed. Many details were quickly mentioned and then glossed over, leaving little room for the plot and the characters to develop.

Magnus’ adventures and behaviour are amusing but not very informative. Instead of the complex character that I had grown to love, Magnus was reduced to a glorified party boy with an attitude to rival Jace’s. I enjoyed his witty banter and the way that he acted when he was drunk, but I was disappointed by the way that his moments of bitterness and wisdom were glossed over in favour of his absurd antics.

The deeper, serious moments were few and far between, but they were easily my favourite parts of this novella. We were provided with a new idea regarding the existence of warlocks: rather than existing because of a demon’s deception, they exist because they were loved.

“We live forever by the grace of human love, which rocked children in their cradles and did not despair and did not turn away.”

These moments also allow for a bit of insight into Magnus’ past – with his parents and the people he had loved – as well as his views on time, love, and immortality. One particular musing about what it means to love a mortal stood out, despite having been presented in slightly different terms in The Mortal Instruments series.

“To Magnus, time was like rain, glittering as it fell, changing the world, but something that could also be taken for granted. Until you loved a mortal. Then time became gold in a miser’s hands, every bright year counted out carefully, infinitely precious, and each one slipping through your fingers.”

If What Really Happened in Peru contained more of these serious moments, it would have made for a much more satisfying read. As it was, the novella was fun but forgettable, so hopefully the next installment will be better.

30 Day Book Challenge: Day 3

I stumbled across this 30 day book challenge by The Chronicles of Radiya and decided to give it a try. Hopefully it will lead to 30 consecutive days of blogging that liven up the blog a bit and give us a chance to get to know each other a little better.

Day 3: Your Favourite Series

If I hadn’t already challenged myself to only use a book/series once during this challenge, I would have chosen the Harry Potter series. Those books were a huge part of my childhood and teenage years, and helped me become the voracious reader I am today.

Since I already used Harry Potter for my day 1 post, I’ll have to go with The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.

It’s filled with loveable characters, many plot twists, demons, clockwork creatures, and swoon-worthy boys. The Infernal Devices is one of those series that I can pick up again and again, and the fact that it’s set in the Victorian Era and incorporates steampunk aspects made me enjoy it even more than The Mortal Instruments series.

(Yes, it’s partially because of Will Herondale – what can I say? I have a weakness for pretty boys with dark hair, blue eyes, a love of books, and witty, sarcastic banter).