why I love boarding school books.

Stories set in boarding schools have always fascinated and enthralled me. It all started when I was younger and first read a certain fantasy series that would literally change my life by instilling a love of reading in me.

tumblr_n1gwd3azdu1ttj3t7o1_500That’s right. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling was the first boarding school book I ever read, and I instantly fell in love. There’s just something about being stuck at school all the time that makes for the most interesting adventures. I think it’s the fact that the characters live together and therefore are never really apart. With books set in normal schools, the action tends to only happen during the span of the school day. But with boarding school books, the story never has to pause with the ringing of the end-of-the-day bell.

I also love the great traditions that boarding schools always seem to have. Each year at Hogwarts you can count on the first-years being sorted by the Sorting Hat, making trips to Hogsmeade, and watching exciting Quidditch games. My own school in real life has some loose traditions that we try to maintain each year, but nothing as rich, permanent, or fun as the ones I’ve read about it boarding school books. I think that part of my love of these books has to do with wanting to experience these traditions for myself.

And the teachers. My word, the teachers in these boarding school stories! There’s always one that I love, that I wish was my wise grandparent that I could go to for advice and general words of wisdom. There’s Dumbledore in Harry Potter, Dr. Hyde in Looking for Alaska by John Green, Hannah (not really a teacher, but still an adult at the school) in Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta- the list goes on and on! I really appreciate dedicated and enthusiastic teachers, and all of these people hold special places in my literary heart.

To be honest, that all I’ve really gleaned so far about my love of boarding school books. I’ve always loved them and will continue to love them, and I guess that’s that.

Do you love boarding school books? If so, what are some of your favorites? Let me know in the comments section below!

Yours,

HOLLY

8 thoughts on “why I love boarding school books.

  1. Wow!!!!!! I love this post so much. I am always fascinated by boarding schools although I have never been to any boarding schools. I like mystery novels related to boarding schools such Harry Potter, Vampire Academy, House of night

  2. Boarding schools sound like so much fun to be honest. Like Hogwarts would be heaven on Earth, aside from the occasional Dementor every now and then. I can’t really recall reading any boarding schools books except for HP.

  3. I’ve always wanted to go to a boarding school (they look like so much fun!), but the closest I’ve gotten was living in residence during my first year of university. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart and A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray are some of my favourite boarding school books.

    • Those books are amazing as well! I read them both a while back and loved them to pieces, as per usual. I actually might give them a reread soon… anyways, thanks for commenting! 😉

  4. Pingback: elsewhere, four. | NutFreeNerd

Leave a Reply

